Interview with Paul McGuire (Cerebral Bore)

Posted: March 8, 2011 in Interviews
Tags: , , , , , , ,

(Originally interviewed for KtmROCKS EMag 08)

So, with the release of their debut studio full length “Maniacal Miscreation” in 2010, Cerebal Bore have become a force to reckon with in the global brutal death metal circles. The band rises from Scotland and is currently signed with Earache Records. Here’s a short interview with the band’s guitarist Paul McGuire.

Hi, thank you for your time, Sir. To start with, could you describe Cerebral Bore’s sound for those who haven’t heard your music before, in just one sentence?

Hard one, as this person could possibly be a death metal fan who hasn’t heard us, or a strict fan of pop music who hasn’t even heard death metal let alone Cerebral bore. So my descriptions would differ depending on the person. To the Death metal fan, I would say we are a fast paced, brutal band with a modern sound and guttural vocals.

Alright freely describe your music and please tell us about your musical influences as well.

We are brutal but catchy I would say. Not too over the top but not gentle in any way either! Musically, I’m not sure who inspired us, just the genre in general I think. I always find this question hard to answer!

Could you tell us briefly about how the band got started?

We started out in 2006 in Glasgow, Scotland, and recorded a demo which became the only demo we ever recorded before signing to Earache records in December 2010. Our line-up went through a few changes before it settled on our album line-up. Som is Dutch and is the only non-Scottish member of Cerebral Bore. She joined the band in July 2010 and has already played more than 10 countries as our vocalist.

Personally I have always wanted to see the world, and just knowing that it could be possible with my own band has always given the inspiration needed to keep going and to work hard.

So how has the band’s music evolved since CB first began?

I would say that we have got a lot more brutal and a lot groovier! There was a much more old school vibe to our older stuff, I’ve tried to go for a fresh sound always but I would say that we have come closer to it in the more recent songs we have done.

CB released the full length album “Maniacal Miscreation” last year and was very much well received by the fans. Tell us a bit about the album concept and production.

The album was recorded and mixed/mastered in Wales at Foel studios by Chris Fielding.
We didn’t have an overall concept but we tried to get a lot of Scottish references throughout the artwork and lyrics as well as the samples. The album will be officially released in April 2011 by Earache records.

Several lineup changes in terms of vocalists, has that affected the band in anyway? And personally how do you manage your time with different projects?

The vocalist problems have only made us stronger to be honest, it taught us to keep working and not be held back by anyone. I don’t have any other project that take up any of my time, as being the manager of this band takes every minute of my spare time.

How did you get along with Earache Record Label at first?

I sent a link to their website and got a reply within the hour saying that they were already preparing a contract proposal for us, so it turned out to be a strange coincidence, considering it was the only label I personally approached.

How’s the songwriting process like?

I don’t have any kind of recording gear or even an actual guitar setup at home, so it mostly comes down to us having a band rehearsal the next day, so I stay up for an hour or 2 and write something and go jam it with the other guys the next day. But other times when I have access to a drum kit, I can write a lot faster by playing the drum part and then playing the guitar part over it to make sure it works then way I imagine it in my head.

Could you give us an idea about the gear you use?

I don’t have my own amp, but I have 1 guitar which is a Jackson Rhoads model, which I got for free from Jackson in 2008 when they gave me an endorsement. I also have a few boss pedals including noise suppressor, Metal core, and tuner! I am also endorsed by Spectraflex cables, In Tune guitar picks, and EMG pickups, which I also use regularly!

What are the immediate music career goals of the band?

Hoping to get to Asia and South America, also to maybe get our video on MTV!

So when’s the next album supposed to release? Any plan or update already?

The next album will be ready for early 2012 I think, but who knows. It all comes down to the music being ready and not rushed for the sake of a deadline. We have already begun writing and I just bought a new drum kit to help the process.

How much are you guys into playing (video) games? Cerebral Bore is a weapon in some Turok game right?

Yes! Our drummer is probably the biggest gamer, but none of us are actually fans of Turok!

So we’ve learned that you guys are also playing in Underground Unleashed Festival, Darjeeling this year! Are you familiar with the metal scene in India? And what are the band’s expectations out of this gig?

I am not overly familiar with the Indian scene but I know that it’s great from what my friend Shaun (Putrid Pile) told me about his recent show there. I don’t like to get my hopes up or have high expectations of shows, which usually makes them far better than they may have been if you built them up too much!

And have you guys ever thought of doing a gig in Nepal?

I can honestly say that I have always dreamed of the thought of a show in Nepal! It is a country I have always wanted to visit, with awesome stuff like the Himalayas and Mount Everest. Which I am told I can see from Darjeeling! So anyone in Nepal who wants to book us…we are available!!

Once again thanks a lot for your time and the interview, any last message to CB’s fans in Nepal?

Thank you! People of Nepal, come see us in Darjeeling or demand a CB show in Kathmandu !! We hope to come blast your faces off one day! Keep making that awesome hashish!!!

You could find out more about the band in their Myspace page.

– Interviewed by The Sickening Art

Leave a Reply

